Category: Elections

Two Quick Things

First, the race for State Representative in District 98 just became less crowded as Evan Wolf and Myron Katz dropped out. This leaves incumbent Neil Abramson to be challenged by John “Fenn” French on October 22. Wolf also was found Thursday in front of the New Orleans City Council applying for the interim seat of Arnie Fielkow.

Second, a new t-shirt design is up in our store. The first of the marsh fire line of designs. Check it out!

Oct 22 Candidate List

Now that the Saints laid an egg, I guess I’ll take my mind off things temporarily and announce the qualifying candidates for the coming election:


  • David Blanchard (I) Brusly, LA
  • Lenny Bollingham (I) Baton Rouge
  • Ron Ceasar (I) Opelousas
  • Cary Deaton (D) Metairie
  • Tara Hollis (D) Haynesville
  • Bobby Jindal (R) Baton Rouge*
  • Bob Lang Jr (I) Natchitoches
  • Scott Lewis (L) Baton Rouge
  • Niki Bird Papazoglakis (D) Baton Rouge
  • Trey Roberts (D) Gretna

Lt Gov:

  • Jay Dardenne (R) Baton Rouge*
  • Billy Nungesser (R) Belle Chasse

Sec of State

  • Tom Schedler (R) Mandeville*
  • Jim Tucker (R) New Orleans

Attny Gen

  • Buddy Caldwell (R) Tallulah*
  • Joseph Cao (R) New Orleans

St Treasurer

  • John Kennedy (R) Baton Rouge*

Comm of Insurance

  • Jim Donelon (R) Metairie*
  • Donald Hodge (D) Baton Rouge

Comm of Ag & Forestry

  • B Alexandrenko (Reform) Lafayette
  • Jamie LaBranche (D) LaPlace
  • Mike Strain (R) Covington*

Senate Dis 1

  • AG Crowe (R) Pearl River*
  • Nita Hutter (R) Chalmette

Senate Dis 3

  • JP Morrell (D) New Orleans*
  • Cynthia Willard-Lewis (D) New Orleans

Senate Dis 4

  • Ed Murray (D) New Orleans*

Senate Dis 7

  • David Heitmeier (D) New Orleans*

Senate Dis 9

  • Conrad Appel (R) Metairie*

House Dis 91

  • Walt Leger III (D) New Orleans*

House Dis 93

  • Helena Moreno (D) New Orleans*

House Dis 94

  • Josie Haas (D) New Orleans
  • John Labruzzo (R) Metairie
  • Nick Lorusso (R) New Orleans*

House Dis 97

  • Jared Brossett (D) New Orleans*

House Dis 98

  • Neil Abramson (D) New Orleans*
  • Fenn French (R) New Orleans
  • Myron Katz (D) New Orleans
  • Evan Wolf (D) New Orleans

House Dis 99

  • Wesley Bishop (D) New Orleans*
  • Samuel Cowart (D) New Orleans

House Dis 100

  • Austin Badon (D) New Orleans*

House Dis 102

  • Jeff Arnold (D) New Orleans*
  • Carlos Williams (D) New Orleans

House Dis 103

  • Michael Bayham (R) Chalmette
  • Ray Garofalo (R) Meraux
  • Chad Lauga (D) Arabi
  • Cullen Tonry (D) Chalmette

Civil Dis Court Judge Div B

  • Regina Bartholomew (D) New Orleans
  • Ellen Hazeur (D) New Orleans

Civil Dis Court Judge Div E

  • Nakisha Ervin-Knott (D) New Orleans
  • Clare Jupiter (D) New Orleans
  • Kris Kiefer (D) New Orleans

Traffic Court Judge Div A

  • Herbert Cade (D) New Orleans
  • Ernest Charbonnet (D) New Orleans
  • Patrick Giraud (D) New Orleans

Criminal Dis Court Judge Sec L

  • Willard Brown (D) New Orleans
  • Donald Sauviac Jr (R) New Orleans
  • Glen Woods (D) New Orleans
  • Franz Zibilich (D) New Orleans

*Update: I somehow overlooked the 2 races for Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.

BESE Dis 1

  • Lee Barrios (I) Abita Springs
  • Jim Garvey (R) Metairie*
  • Sharon Hewitt (R) Slidell

BESE Dis 2

  • Louella Givens (D) Mandeville*
  • Pam Matus (I) LaPlace
  • Kira Jones (D) New Orleans
  • Ferdinand Wallace Jr (D) Reserve

Incumbents identified with (*)

Not Much Ado About Little

Campaign signs have been popping up all over town lately, which means candidates are qualifying for the October 22 elections this week. On Orleans Parish ballots in 6.5 weeks will be:

  • Governor
  • Lt Gov
  • Sec of State
  • Attny General
  • St Treasurer
  • Commissioner of Insurance
  • Commissioner of Ag and Forestry
  • State Senate districts 3,4,5,7,9
  • State House districts 91,93,94,97,98,99,100,103
  • Civil District Court Judge divisions B and E
  • Traffic Court Judge division A
  • Criminal District Court section L
  • Proposition on the New Orleans Regional Business Park

Don’t remember which districts you’re in? Check here. Also, we will be voting on 5 Constitutional Amendments:

  1. Dedicating funds to TOPS
  2. Unfunded accrued liability
  3. Patients compensation fund
  4. Budget Stabilization fund changes
  5. Sales tax exemption adjustment due to population change in NOLA

Stay tuned for a list of candidates once qualifying is complete and later, a breakdown on who’s most Nolatarian in each race.